While Instagram is already routinely used, anyone may look shocked to witness an irregular occurrence, such as following requests’ disappearance. However, there is no need to worry about this problem, for whatever the reason is, the solution will be a lot easier than what you imagine.
You should only remember that if you have had a similar experience, two situations require our attention:
- Why my entire follow requests on Instagram disappeared automatically?
The first situation that you may have come up against is that your entire follow requests disappeared automatically. You may have neither approved nor rejected the pending follow requests, but you are not able to see the list of people who had asked to follow you. Remember that Instagram never removes the requests automatically as the “follow” requests do not expire on Instagram.
- Why some of the “follow” requests on my Instagram disappeared automatically?
Since you already know the follow requests can not be removed automatically on Instagram, the second situation you may have faced is when you cannot see some particular follow requests. In contrast, the list of other people who had asked to follow you is still visible.
Why you are not able to see the “follow” requests anymore?
The second situation’s answer is easy as the users who had sent you the follow requests may have decided to delete their requests themselves. On top of that, there are some other possibilities for this issue that we will discuss in this article and provide you with solutions to fix it.
First possibility: change in account status on Instagram
If you have set your account to the public even for a moment without intending to, changing your status as private from the public will not undo the mistake. All your pending follow requests have been accepted without your permission, and you will be able to see them on your follower’s list.
How to fix account status issue on Instagram?
It is simple, look through the follower’s list and block anyone whose name is on the list against your will. This process may sound time-consuming, but it is worthwhile as a lasting solution.
Second possibility: an application glitch on Instagram
Although glitches may largely be a recurrent issue when message requests disappear, another reason that makes you think your follow requests were removed automatically is the possibility of a network error. Even if this sounds unlikely, your system file might be corrupted in the course of an update or a connectivity issue.
How to fix an application glitch?
- Make sure your network connection is working properly. Check your router or modem to see if they are out-of-date, or contact your internet service provider to ensure that they are not experiencing any problems, say, outages in your area.
- Once you log out of your Instagram account and log in again, you could well see the problem is tackled.
- If you still think you have an application glitch, simply restart your phone or reinstall the application on your device.
Have you sent someone a “follow” request, but you can no longer see the request?
Now you know the home truth that Instagram does not remove your request. So, if the grey button “requested” has reverted to the blue “follow,” you should take a few possibilities that have resulted in this situation into account.
- Your request is deleted
It may not sound good, but this is considered the most likely answer. They have either rejected your request or blocked your account.
- A change in account status
If your follow request has disappeared, check if you are a follower from then on. Since the user you wanted to follow may have set their account to the public.
- An application glitch
No matter how remote it seems, you had better consider it as a potential answer.
- The user you wanted to follow has deactivated their account on Instagram.
The first thing to know is that “follow” requests have no expiration date, and they will never be removed automatically by Instagram. The possible solution is a change that you may have made to your account, unaware of its consequences, such as changing your account status.
If that were not the case, you need to fix your Internet connection or rectify the situation regarding your application glitch. Otherwise, it does not have anything to do with you as the user has deleted their request or rejected yours. In the end, if you know another way, share with us.